Thai Red Curry

I can’t begin to tell you how excited I was to try this recipe. The other day, whilst on Facebook I noticed that one of my friends, Jiggy – who currently lives in Bangkok, had been on a Thai cookery course and posted the photos on her wall. Unable to afford the time, or the fare, to travel out to do the class myself, I thought I’d cheat and begged Jiggy to email me one of the recipes she had made in her class. She obliged (for which I am eternally thankful) and I impatiently waited until the weekend to give it a try. 

Also, at this point I’d like to make special mention of the lovely @meemalee who came to my rescue when I turned to Twitter for help when unable to find a source of fresh Kaffir limes in the UK. She very helpfully suggested (as you can’t get fresh Kaffir limes imported into the UK) that I try Diamante Citrons as an alternative and even recommended a grocer on Drummond St (near Euston) where I could find them. They proved to be a great alternative, so thanks again Meemalee.

I have also replaced dried chillies (which the recipe suggested) for fresh chillies, mainly because I realised, too late in the day, that I had run out of dried chillies.

So, for an authentic Thai red curry you will need…

Ingredients:

For the red curry paste:

5 chopped big red chillies (add more/stronger if you like it really hot!)

1 tsp coriander seeds

3 tbsp chopped lemon grass

3 tbsp chopped shallots

2 tbsp chopped garlic

2 tbsp chopped ginger (or galangal)

1 tsp finely grated fresh Diamante Citron peel

1/4 tsp salr

1 tsp shrimp paste

Method:

1. Dry roast (no oil) the coriander seeds in a wok or frying pan until the seeds start popping. Remove from heat and place in a mortar and pestle and grind to a fine powder.

coriander seeds

2. Add the chopped chillies and salt and continue to grind until the inredients are all mixed in well together.

Mix in chillies

3. Add the lemon grass, ginger, garlic, shallots, lime peel and shrimp paste and continue to grind for several minutes until the the ingredients form a paste.

Curry paste

You will only need to use a small amount of the paste for your curry so you can store the rest of it in the fridge for another time.

For the curry itself you will need:

Ingredients:

250g chicken breast – cut into bite-sized cubes (you can use pork or prawns as an alternative)

250ml coconut milk

1/4 cup water

1/2 tbsp palm sugar (or brown sugar)

1 tbsp fish sauce

4 kaffir lime leaves (dried) – sliced into thin slices

2 tbsp red curry paste

Mange tout (or any vegetables you fancy)

Method:

1. Add 125ml of the coconut milk to a wok and bring to the boil on a medium heat. When boiling add in the curry paste and stir in thoroughly. Continue stirring for a couple of minutes.

Coconut milk and curry paste

2. Add in the chicken and cook for a further 5 mins until the chicken is no longer pink on the outside. Keep stirring throughout.

Add chicken

3. Add in the remaining coconut milk, water, sugar and fish sauce and simmer for a further 10 mins. Add in some mange tout and continue to simmer for a further 3-5 minutes.

Add remaining coconut milk, water and mange tout

4. Check that the chicken is cooked through, remove from the heat and dish up into bowls. Serve with Thai fragrant rice and a wedge of lime.

(Serves 2)

About hjonesyfeeds

Living in London; working in marketing; eating like a pig; writing about it. View all posts by hjonesyfeeds

5 responses to “Thai Red Curry

  • garethcook

    That looks absolutely delicious. I had lunch two hours ago and this has made me hungry all over again. Love the step-by-step photos – gives even an amateur chef like me confidence I could have a stab at it. Though where the heck I would locate a Diamante Citron in deepest Oxfordshire I can’t begin to imagine!

    Glad I discovered your site, but concerned I may need to significantly increase my exercise regime in order to compensate for your inspiration to eat like a King (Kong, in my case!).

    • hjonesyfeeds

      Thanks Gareth, that’s really very sweet of you.

      I’ll make you a deal…if you’re really keen to give the recipe a go and can’t get hold of any Diamante Citrons then I’ll go and buy you one and send it up to you. (hopefully it should manage the journey ok)

      I’d book yourself into the gym now mate, because it’s only going to get worse from here. 😉

  • Lizzie

    Would kaffir lime leaves do instead? I use them a lot in curries, and you can buy them frozen (dried are rubbish) in Chinese supermarkets.

    • hjonesyfeeds

      Ooh possibly. You do put kaffir leaves in the actual curry. It says fresh kaffir lime peel for the paste so I thought I’d try and get as close as I possibly could. Those diamanté citrons are pretty incredible. They smell amazing!!

  • garethcook

    Thanks for your kind offer. I will attempt to track them down in Oxford first – it might be possible among the grocery treasure troves of the Cowley Road. Failing that I will let you know…

    I did an 8 mile cycle at lunchtime today in preparation for the culinary delights ahead – used to do about 14 miles a day to work and back before I went freelance. Nowadays my commute to the office is a matter of steps. It felt good to back on the bike and battling the wind up the hills. Hard work ahead, and then I can enjoy the rewards, inspired by your suggestions. Sounds like a reasonable deal to me.

Leave a Reply

